31.03.2019

Unicorn Release Note 8.2

Your Unicorn LMS News

Unicorn LMS 8.2 sees continued enhancements to our Forms and Workflows functionality, with the ability to push data entered into forms back to the user profile. You can further customise the direction of your workflows, move and copy multiple fields at once and set the visibility of fields per stage. 8.2 also sees the introduction of pivot tables, enhancing how Reporting helps you to stay on top of your data.


Pushing data entered into forms to the user profile

In Release 8.0 we introduced the ability to automatically pull data from a user's profile into a form. You can now push data entered in to a form back to the user's profile. If the field in the user's profile already contains data then it will be overwritten with the data entered in to the form at the point the form is completed.

You can now push data entered into a form back to the user's profile

How does it work?

When viewing the Layout tab in the form template editor, click on the User Data field from the tools palette. You can then select the corresponding personal custom field from within the user profiles and drag this into your form. Once added to your form, click on the field to edit it. To push data back to the user profile set the Custom field mode option to Write. When a form activity is launched using this form template, the personal custom field will not be populated. The assignee or manager can complete this field at the relevant stage of the workflow. Only at the point the form is completed at the end of the workflow will the data be pushed back to the user's profile.

How do I get it?

This functionality will be available to all Super Administrators when creating and editing form templates. Released in 8.1.25.


Workflow improvements

We have made a number of enhancements to editable workflows. These enhancements form part of our continued work to ensure forms and workflows fully support the Certification Regime.

  • Set the visibility of items per stage instead of per user. This allows for greater flexibility over who can see the field during completion.
  • Set the workflow direction for each stage, choosing whether the form stage can only progress to the next stage of the workflow, or is able to be returned to the previous stage.
  • Force the workflow to return to the previous stage when any changes are made. Further to the above, if there have been amendments to the current stage, this will automatically return the form to the previous stage for the previous owner to review any changes before the form is signed off.
  • Show the name of the current stage in the workflow when the form is being completed by the owner or any contributors.

You can now set the workflow direction for each of the stages and force the workflow to the previous stage

How does it work?

Setting the visibility is still done on the individual fields in the Layout tab of your form template. The difference is, instead of choosing user or manager you now choose the stage you want the field to be visible in. If the field is editable in a stage, then the visibility for this stage will be selected by default.

On the Workflow tab you can now set Workflow Options for each stage. Workflow Options are accessed through the three dots menu next to each stage. Choose whether you want each assignee to be able to send the form to the previous stage or only the next stage in the workflow. You can also choose whether you want the form to always return to the previous stage if changes have been made that the previous assignee needs to review.

How do I get it?

This functionality will be available to all Super Administrators when creating and editing form templates. Released in 8.1.25 (visibility of items per stage), 8.1.24 (set the workflow direction and show the name of current stage).


Ability to move and copy multiple fields when managing the workflow.

You can now move or copy multiple fields at a time between stages when customising your workflows. This makes it easier if you have lots of fields you want to move to different stages.

You can now move or copy multiple fields between stages when customising your workflows

How does it work?

The option to Select Fields has been added for each stage in the workflow. When you click this option you can then select each field you want to move. Once a field is clicked it's highlighted grey. Then drag all fields to your selected stage at the same time.

You can also copy all fields from one stage to another. To do this click the three dots menu on the stage containing the fields you want to copy and select Copy all fields. Then choose the stage you want to copy the fields to. All fields from the first stage will be copied to your chosen new stage.

How do I get it?

This functionality will be available to all Super Administrators when creating and editing form templates. Released in 8.1.27.


Creating pivot tables

You can now create pivot tables to summarise large quantities of your data when using reports in the Unicorn LMS.

The pivot table allows you to easily summarise large quantities of data

How does it work?

When editing your report, click on the Charts tab to create a pivot table. Choose Pivot table from the chart options available, save and run your report. You are then presented with the pivot configuration which works exactly as it does in Excel. Choose the relevant fields and drag them into the filters, columns, rows or values section of the configuration table. Click save to create your pivot table.

How do I get it?

This functionality will be available to all Administrators and Reporting Administrators when running reports. Released in 8.2.2.


Author

Stuart Jones

Stuart Jones

CTO

Working in the eLearning industry for 17 years, Stuart has focused on the development and delivery…

View articles by author

Subscribe to the Unicorn newsletter for the latest updates

Please complete missing fields or check information is correct.